Unorthodox Spot-on

It all started by watching a TV Programme.

I just watched a TV Programme revealing something new to me about New York. It is about Jewish community in the Borough Park, Brooklyn. It has been known that New York has the largest Jewish community in the world outside Israel.

I live in a place where I don’t get to see Jewish people much. In fact, the place where I am living has always been predominantly inhabited by Moslem. Thus, this TV Programme successfully brought up something out of ordinary for me, humanely speaking, not religiously.

Hasidic Jews

Let’s get back to this TV Programme. The viewers, like myself was brought into a family in the area. They are Hasidic Jews, which is different with the Orthodox Jews. (Note: If you are willing to know more on the differences, you can hop on Google. I am not here to discuss or even confront people with their beliefs). The family is consisted of 1 husband, 1 wife with 6 kids. Hasidic Jews are pretty recognisable by the way they dressed, especially men. I have seen some in pictures and films too before this. They usually wear black attire with a hat, long sideburn and long beard. They are easy to spot in the crowd. While women are not that easy because they dress normally, aside from covering up some part of their body like collar bones. And what is pretty shocking to me is women are not allowed to show their hair in the public so they will always be wearing wigs wherever they are. And as if it is not shocking enough to me, husband and wife relationship can be publicly displayed. They are not allowed to touch each other unless in their own private bedroom. I like how this couple tried to explain to viewers the deep meaning behind this. It is that to appreciate the connection and to get in touch more with our souls than merely with physical contact.

This family doesn’t have any television and no internet connectivity at all. In fact, none of the kids living in the house has never watched TV. The eldest one (17 years old) mentioned that he saw a picture of a television before but never actually seen it in person. None of the family member ever heard of Beyonce, Miley Cyrus or even Mickey Mouse! But, you know what? They all seem really fulfilled. They spend their quality time with family and they have plenty of time for it. They enjoy each other’s company. In their spare time, they’ll read books and dance with each other!

This is amazing. With these days’ advanced technology and gadgets, people like this still exist. I personally can not take my hands off of any gadget or even Internet connectivity. Hell, I even use my laptop and Internet connection to get this blog through.

The wife mentioned about how she’s grateful with what she had at the moment. They don’t have the mainstream media making them feel inferior about themselves and being pushed to fulfil the so-called standard living. Human just won’t get any satisfaction that easily. There is always something more. And human has always been impulsive with new stuffs. She is right. I feel what she said right there. I love gadgets and Internet. In fact, I live and breathe them. There is always new suff coming. And when it comes out, suddenly you see yourself living insufficiently because lacking of that particular new stuff in life. But by seeing this Programme, I think something clearly needs to be mended.

Sense of fulfilment clearly comes from a realisation that we have had enough.

One thought on “Unorthodox Spot-on

Leave a Reply

